TeamEleanors Food Blog: Dining in Leh, Ladekh

Monday, July 24, 2023

Today I was in Leh Ladekh and got lunch at a nice homestay home that does homemade meal services, and dinner at KPG Express. Great experience, both meals were very nice! Would definitely do again. And the homestay home was very homey with a great atmosphere.

For lunch at the homestay home we had a variety of drinks and foods served to us.

First we had homemade butter tea, and we got to see them make it which was really exciting. They also served us Chhang, an alcoholic barely based drink, which I forgot to take a picture of.

Not bad. The tea tasted like the name, butter and tea. Not something I would order, as it feels very fatty to drink, but not bad. Chhang I was not a fan of, but that’s coming from someone who does not like alcoholic drinks, but I’m sure people who enjoy alcohol would like this!

Next they served us a vegetable and barely soup.

This soup was very good! However at the end you got chunks of a nut, which I wasn’t a huge fan of. Slightly too much black pepper used, but overall very yummy and comforting soup.

Next they served us vegetable steamed momos, vegetable fried momos, and a chutney to go with them.

The steamed momos were okay, not great. They were slightly dough-y with a small portion of vegetable filling which was disappointing. The fried momos, however, were delicious! The filling was great and the outside was nice and crispy. The vegetable chutney was also amazing, and if I’m being honest I ate some of it just by itself because it was so good and didn’t even need the momos to be good.

They also served us bread with a yoghurt sauce which is supposed to be a popular breakfast. I forgot to take a picture, sorry! The bread was good, nothing really too special about it though, it was just bread. I wasn’t really a fan of the yoghurt sauce, I found it too tart and it tasted like it had a very strong vinegary taste which I did not like.

Next they served us these noodles in a curry type of broth.

Pretty good, I liked the addition of the vegetables, but I’m not sure which ones were used. The noodles were slightly doughy, but the broth was nice. It did lack a slight amount of salt.

For desert they served us apricots.

The apricots were very good. They were still pitted, which I was not expecting, but they were nice and soft and delicious. I was worried the syrup would make them too sweet, but they were just right.

Overall lunch at this homestay house was very nice with a warm and comforting atmosphere. The food was good, and it was nice knowing everything was homemade from scratch. They also have a big garden where they grow all the vegetables, so everything is organic and home grown.

For dinner I got chicken tai po and vegetable thukpa at KPG Express, and a slice of mati pancake for desert at a bakery close by.

The vegetable thukpa was pretty good, but it felt like it was lacking in some aspect, but I’m not sure what. In a way it seemed bland, but it was still nice and comforting. The chicken tai po was amazing. It was filled very well with an egg and chicken filling, it tasted gingery, chickeny, and delicious. The sauces were also pretty nice, they came with a sesame and a chili sauce. The sesame sauce was ok, but the chili sauce was very good and spicy. Definitely a good addition. I also tried one of my friends pork momos, and that was delicious as well. It did take awhile to get all the food, but it was definitely worth it.

The mati pancake for desert was ok. It was fluffy and nice, with a chocolate frosting as well as a lighter creamier layer as well. It also had pieces of almonds. It was good, but what threw me off was a layer of what tasted like masala, which did not seem to fit very well with the rest of the cake. It was nice to try something new, but not sure if I would order it again.

Overall very good food day. The homestay gave us a nice variety of very good food, and the momos at KPG Express were probably the best i’ve ever had. Definitely recommend both these places in Leh!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started